{Advertisements}

{Advertisements}

Author Topic: Loan / Borrow legal documents?  (Read 13331 times)

Offline 3legdog

• Contributor with future
  • http://buriramexpats.com/
Loan / Borrow legal documents?
« on: June 13, 2017, 09:54:01 PM »
Is there a legal document in Thailand that I can present to a court to prove money has been loaned to a Thai person who agreed to pay it back? Do foreigners have rights in these matters?

Just a precaution to ensure I will not get screwed over, and the borrowing party also should know that they are legally obliged to pay the money back.

Offline fishy

• Contributor on the right way
Re: Loan / Borrow legal documents?
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2017, 10:41:57 PM »
3legdog... Seeing you are a Newbie with 3 posts...and welcome to Burriram expats may I add...Maybe I am not answering your question but to me It sounds like you need to take your Rose colored Glasses off and do some thinking about what you are doing.... I am not a Lawyer but to guarantee a loan you need the person wanting money to put an asset up front so that if they do not repay you have claim over the asset if they default... You should have a solicitor draw up a contract...

Offline Wayne from Aus

« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2017, 02:29:52 AM »
NEVER lend money  EVER EVER
Never pay for any services in advance (building, plumbing etc)

Offline Starman

• Gifte​d Poster
    • burirampieman.com
« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2017, 05:25:28 AM »
3legdog... Seeing you are a Newbie with 3 posts...and welcome to Burriram expats may I add...Maybe I am not answering your question but to me It sounds like you need to take your Rose colored Glasses off and do some thinking about what you are doing.... I am not a Lawyer but to guarantee a loan you need the person wanting money to put an asset up front so that if they do not repay you have claim over the asset if they default... You should have a solicitor draw up a contract...

Incorrect.